Japan Chemical Industry Association Holds 21st General Assembly: Mr. Kyohei Takahashi of Showa Denko K.K. Appointed as New JCIA Chairman

Japan Chemical Industry Association

Japan Chemical Industry Association (JCIA) held its 21st General Assembly and 143rd Board of Directors meeting in Tokyo on Monday, May 28, 2012.

During the General Assembly, the proposed appointment of officers, business plans, and the budget for fiscal year 2012 were discussed and approved by the 217 JCIA members in attendance. At the Board of Directors meeting, which followed the General Assembly, a new chairman and vice chairmen of JCIA were selected, with JCIA's former Vice Chairman Kyohei Takahashi (Representative Director, Chairman of the Board of Showa Denko K.K.) being appointed as the new JCIA chairman, replacing past Chairman Kenji Fujiyoshi (Chairman of Mitsui Chemicals, Inc.).

Prior to the General Assembly, awards ceremonies for the "36th Annual JCIA Safety Award" and the "44th Annual JCIA Technology Award" were held.

For the Safety Award, Yokkaichi Plant of JSR Corporation was selected as the "Grand Prize" winner, and Yokohama Plant of Showa Denko K.K. and Minamata Factory of JNC Corporation were awarded as "First Prize" winners.

For the Technology Award, FUJIFILM Corporation was recognized as the "Grand Prize" winner for its efforts to expand business by developing Fujitac high-quality, high-efficient film formation technology of solution. The "Special Technology Prize" went to Sumitomo Chemical Co., Ltd. for its industrialization of a compound semiconductor epitaxial wafer through a metal organic chemical vapor deposition method. The "Environmental Technology Prize" went to the Mitsubishi Chemical Corporation, National Institute for Materials Science, and Tokyo University of Technology for their combined efforts to develop red phosphor for white LED.

Following is a list of JCIA's new officers, including the chairman, vice chairmen, directors, and auditors, and new chairmen of committees:

Board of Directors and Auditors

Chairman Kyohei Takahashi Representative Director, Chairman of the

Board, Showa Denko K.K.

Vice Chairmen

Yoshimitsu Kobayashi President & Chief Executive Officer,

Mitsubishi Chemical Holdings Corporation

Taketsugu Fujiwara President & Representative Director,

Presidential Executive Officer, Asahi Kasei

Corporation

Kenichi Udagawa President, TOSOH CORPORATION

Misao Fudaba President and CEO, Daicel Corporation

Directors Kazuhiko Ishimura President & CEO, Asahi Glass Co., Ltd.

Michio Takeshita President & Representative Director, Ube

Industries, Ltd.

Motoki Ozaki Representative Director, President and

Chief Executive Officer, Kao Corporation

Masakazu Tokura President, Sumitomo Chemical Company,

Limited

Naofumi Negishi President and Representative Director,

Chief Executive Officer, SEKISUI

CHEMICAL CO., LTD.

Yoshiyuki Nakanishi Representative Director, President & CEO,

DIC Corporation

Akira Mandai President, Nippon Kayaku Co., Ltd.

Masanori Ikeda Member of the Board, President, NIPPON

SHOKUBAI CO., LTD.

Shigetaka Komori President and Chief Executive Officer,

FUJIFILM Corporation

Toshikazu Tanaka President & CEO, Mitsui Chemicals, Inc.

Director General

Tetsuo Nishide

Executive Directors

Konomi Kodama [General Manager of General Affairs Dept.

and responsible for Public Relations Dept. and Chemical Products PL Consulting

Center]

Fumiaki Shono [General Manager of International Affairs

Dept. and REACH Task Force and

responsible for Chemicals Management
Dept. and Laboratory Accreditation Center]

Yutaka Haruyama [General Manager of Environment and

Safety Dept. and responsible for

Responsible Care Dept. and Dangerous

Goods by Air Information Office]

Yoshihiko Matsumoto [General Manager of Labor Dept. and

responsible for Dept. of Business/Economic

Information and Technical Affairs Dept.]

Auditors Masami Kishine Member of the Board, Managing Executive

Officer, KANEKA CORPORATION

Mitsukuni Ayabe Director, Managing Executive Officer,

DENKI KAGAKU KOGYO KABUSHIKI

KAISHA

Chairman of Committees

Public Relations Committee Hiroshi Sawayama, Lead Executive Officer,

Asahi Kasei Corporation

International Activities Committee Toshinori Yamamoto, Managing Director,

TOSOH CORPORATION

Economy and Tax System Committee

Masumi Fukuda, Managing Executive

Officer, Daicel Corporation

Labor Committee Atsushi Yamamoto, Executive Officer, Ube

Industries, Ltd.

Technical Affairs Committee Gen Takemoto, Board Director, Managing

Executive Officer, Mitsui Chemicals, Inc.

Environment and Safety Committee Yasuhiro Kajiwara, Managing Executive

Officer, Mitsubishi Chemical Corporation

Chemicals Management Committee Osamu Maruyama, Executive Officer,

Sumitomo Chemical Company, Limited

Responsible Care Committee Katsuhisa Kato, Representative Director,

Executive Vice President, Asahi Glass Co.,

Ltd.