4th Annual Responsible Care Award Winners Japan Responsible Care Council Commends Individuals and Groups for Their Environmental/Safety Activity

Japan Chemical Industry Association

Japan Responsible Care Council

The Japan Responsible Care Council (JRCC) recently announced its 4th annual Responsible Care Award winners.

The Responsible Care Award is given to individuals and groups from the JRCC member companies who have contributed to the promotion and expansion of Responsible Care activities. Applications were solicited in October 2009. The six candidates who applied were assessed by the Member Exchange Working Group. Final approval was given by JRCC's Planning and Steering Committee.

The award winners are: ADEKA Corporation, Mie Factory (Group: 4 persons); Kao Corporation (Group: 2 persons); Showa Denko K.K., Hikone Plant (Group: 4 persons); Sumitomo Chemical Co., Ltd., Tukuba Research Laboratory (Group: 3 persons); Nippon Paint Co., Ltd., Aichi Plant (Group: 3 persons); and Mitsui Chemicals, Inc., Iwakuni-Ohtake Works (Group: 5 persons). They are as follows:

Company/facility	Winners	Theme
ADEKA Corporation,	Tomio Egami,	Hands-on approach to improve
Mie Factory	Yoshihide Ito,	working environment.
	Keiko Goto,	
	Kyoko Kameo	
Kao Corporation	Tetsuyuki Tsuda,	Establishment of a Pollutant Release
	Takuya Kusamiya	and Transfer Registers (PRTR)
		management system
Showa Denko K.K.,	Eiji Yoshimoto,	Improvement of environmental
Hikone Plant	Ikuhira Sugamori,	awareness through aluminum can
	Masaaki Yasuzawa,	recycling
	Masaru Tanaka	

Sumitomo Chemical	Yoshiki Kurotobi,	Safety and health activity by utilizing
Co., Ltd., Tukuba	Michio Shinohara,	the Occupational Safety and Health
Research Laboratory	Kayo Maie	Management System (OSHMS) of
		Tukuba Research Laboratory
Nippon Paint Co.,	Koichi Omura,	Worker safety and health
Ltd., Aichi Plant	Hiroyuki Matsuno,	
	Fumito Sakurai	
Mitsui Chemicals,	Katsuya Takahashi,	Continuous implementation of
Inc., Iwakuni-Ohtake	Shoji Ogata,	regional contribution activities in two
Works	Tadanobu Kurazono,	cities and one town in two prefectures
	Toshihiro Ota,	
	Hiroshi Ide	

The winners will receive their awards and make presentations on their activities at the member exchange meeting of JRCC on July 8 in Osaka.

###